BPsite Forums
April 19, 2024, 06:46:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: BPSITE FOREVER!

Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Math problem  (Read 6339 times)
ns33

View Profile WWW
« on: January 21, 2004, 10:32:08 PM »

This math problem has been bugging me for almost a year and either I've been missing something for the past 12 months, or this problem is truly screwed over.

-edit- This is from the American Mathematics Competitions, Contest B, issued on Feb 26, 2003. The question is #22

Let ABCD be a rhombus with AC = 16 and BD = 30. Let N be a point on AB, and let P and Q be the feet of the perpendiculars from N to AC and BD, respectively. Which of the following is closest to the minimum possible value of PQ?

(A) 6.5; (B) 6.75; © 7; (D) 7.25; (E) 7.5

This is ALL the information there is. Please do not ask for more info, and do NOT make up information without being able to show it through a standard proof.

« Last Edit: January 22, 2004, 09:06:11 PM by ns33 » Logged
evilknight

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2004, 02:11:37 AM »

the answer is 42

HaHa. This post cost SS .5 cents! So Sayeth the Evilknight.
Hmmm. The court will take a 15 minute recess to fix the judicial...bench...thingy. ~Ethan
Rug

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2004, 10:34:21 AM »

Eeeek, thats evil. Maybe one of those unanswerable questions?
opperdude

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 10:52:50 AM »

well i'm just gonna start (dunno how to do the signs properly here but i'll try):

to make PQ as short as possible NP=NQ (rite?)
APN~NQB
AN=16/46 AB=16/30 BN
BN=30/46 AB=1 7/8 AN
AP=16/30 NQ =16/30 NP
AN=16/30 BN
NP=16/30 BQ

i call the point where the diagonals cross point S:
AS=8 (=CS)
BS=15 (=DS)